Sociology faculty recognized at 2016 Honor the Best Ceremony; Jim Richardson receives “Distinguished Faculty award,” Marta Elliott receives Thornton Peace Prize, and both Jim Richardson and Mary Stewart receive Emeriti status

Provost Kevin Carman said it best during Tuesday’s “Honor the Best” ceremony in the Glick Ballrooms of the Joe Crowley Student Union.

“To all of the people who are honored here today: We salute and celebrate your accomplishments,” Carman said. “So much of what is honored here today is interconnected. One person’s honor is a direct reflection not only of that person’s personal and professional excellence, it also, too, is a reflection of the vitality of our institution.”

Since 1970, the “Honor the Best” ceremony has been a gathering by the campus to recognize the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Read Full Story